Spammers Begone

I have today released a new feature for the DearDiary.Net site which puts the power to dispose of spammers firmly in the hands of our trusted users. I will no longer need to verify that people who are marked as spammers should in fact be removed from the site. Instead of relying on any user to advise me that a site is spam, I have changed the system a little.

Trusted users will have their account marked as ‘Moderator’ and will be able to mark sites as spam (which will remove them from any visibility from search engines, as well as remove them from the front page lists or recent updates lists) without any interaction from me. Click the menu bar at the top that shows ‘Mark as Spammer’ and they’ll be gone.

To do this, you need to be marked as a moderator. I will only be allowing people who I’ve known on the site (or in person) for a while to do this, as it’s extremely powerful and requires an element of trust. If you would like to become a moderator and you’ve been on the site for a while and are reasonably well known to me, please let me know your username and I will consider your request :-)

This should help return DearDiary.Net to the more community focussed site that it should be rather than the continual spam cleanup site it has become of late!

Any comments, please feel free to leave them below as always!

Ability to ‘autopost’ to Legacy/Archive System implemented

After a quick straw poll in the Facebook group it seemed like a good thing to offer!

If you have migrated your diary from the ‘legacy’ (deardiary.org) system, when you add a new entry to the NEW system (deardiary.net, ie: the one you’re reading this entry on) then you’ll see a little tickbox up in the top right hand corner inside the ‘Entry Options’ box. (The Entry Options box has been renamed, as it used to say ‘Friends Only’ at the top, but now it does more than just friends only).

The little tick box says ‘Also post to deardiary.org’. If you place a tick in this box then the entry you’re typing will also get automatically posted to the legacy site at deardiary.org. Any friends you have who have requested notifies from you will get notified from the old site (if they’re on both, they’ll get notified twice!)

This saves the multitude of people who’ve migrated but still like to keep their entries updated on deardiary.org as well because they have loyal readers who haven’t yet migrated, from having to copy and paste the entry, re-login to the old site, yadda yadda yadda.

Some Caveats though:

  1. You can only post NEW entries to the legacy site. You cannot post updates. This is because the indexing system is different on the old site and I can’t see a sensible way to tell the old site which entry you’re actually updating. I might come up with something in the future, but for now this is a restriction. (Note, entries that you migrated or typed before today will allow you to do one ‘post to deardiary.org’ even if you’re doing an update, but deardiary.org will see it as a totally new entry).
  2. You must not have changed your password on the legacy system since you migrated. If you have changed your password on the legacy deardiary.org system since you migrated, drop me a line and I’ll update the new system so it knows.
  3. You won’t see the tickbox if you’re not a migrated deardiary.org user. So if you have never signed up and migrated from deardiary.org you can’t use this feature.

Cool facts:

  • If you mark your entry on this system as Friends Only as well as tick the Post To DearDiary.Org tickbox, your entry will be posted as Friends Only over there too.
  • If commenting is disabled over here, the entry will be posted with commenting disabled over there too.
  • The date you set on your post here is the date it will show over there.
  • Images embedded in your entry on the new system will also be embedded on the old. But be aware, the old system strips ‘a href’ tags to reduce spam appeal unless you’re a Supporter. I might reverse this change since no-one can sign up on the legacy site any more.

I haven’t tested ‘Scheduled Posts’ – they might not work, or they might :-)

Comments are of course welcome – let me know what you think.

Supporter Status Expiry

Hi all,    Currently there’s no ‘penalty’ for a Supporter when their subscription expires because the system doesn’t actually do anything when a subscription runs out. In the next few days (possibly a week or so) this will change. In a few days, if your Supporter status has expired any plugins that your diary uses that are Supporter Only plugins will automatically de-activate.

I’m not entirely sure who this will affect at this stage because I haven’t done a list of people (if any!) whose Supporter status has expired. But if your Supporter status has expired, be aware that any Supporter plugins will automatically switch off when I make the change.

Sorry to be a pain, but I do need to make some reason for people to re-Support us in the future.

I’m also working on ways to improve the automatic detection of spam diaries, and hopefully I can set the system up to automatically recognise spammers better.

Any questions, please leave a comment here!

Migrations

Hi all,
If you’ve put in a migration request and it hasn’t happened within about 10 minutes or so, please get in touch. You should be able to use the Help
button at the top of the front page, but if you can’t for some reason, or you get no response, please go to the Facebook group – DDFuture and post a comment or request in there. If you don’t have Facebook, leave a comment on this entry and I will investigate for you.

Sometimes the migration system borks for some reason which I’ve yet to get to the bottom of. Normal migrations should take less than 10 minutes, so if yours takes longer, please do seek assistance!

I’ve just manually run some, so you may find yours has now gone through. You should get an email if you requested a migration – if you haven’t, again drop me a line through the channels above. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Steve

Preview Mode

I have been working on something behind the scenes that I suspect some of you will find rather useful…

It’s called Preview Mode. What it means is that you can switch Preview Mode on and any changes you make on your diary will NOT be visible to your visitors. So you can play around with layouts, add pages, change menus, change plugins, change widgets etc all to your hearts content and no-one will be any the wiser.

Once you’re finished switch Preview Mode off. Depending on the choice in the tickbox that says ‘Save Changes’ your changes will either be saved (and become visible to everyone) or discarded.

I’ve also added this plugin to CodeCanyon, so if you run your own WordPress powered site somewhere else and want to buy it (and in the process help support DearDiary.Net) then you can do that by going to the Out Of Sight Editor sales page at CodeCanyon