After a quick straw poll in the Facebook group it seemed like a good thing to offer!
If you have migrated your diary from the ‘legacy’ (deardiary.org) system, when you add a new entry to the NEW system (deardiary.net, ie: the one you’re reading this entry on) then you’ll see a little tickbox up in the top right hand corner inside the ‘Entry Options’ box. (The Entry Options box has been renamed, as it used to say ‘Friends Only’ at the top, but now it does more than just friends only).
The little tick box says ‘Also post to deardiary.org’. If you place a tick in this box then the entry you’re typing will also get automatically posted to the legacy site at deardiary.org. Any friends you have who have requested notifies from you will get notified from the old site (if they’re on both, they’ll get notified twice!)
This saves the multitude of people who’ve migrated but still like to keep their entries updated on deardiary.org as well because they have loyal readers who haven’t yet migrated, from having to copy and paste the entry, re-login to the old site, yadda yadda yadda.
Some Caveats though:
- You can only post NEW entries to the legacy site. You cannot post updates. This is because the indexing system is different on the old site and I can’t see a sensible way to tell the old site which entry you’re actually updating. I might come up with something in the future, but for now this is a restriction. (Note, entries that you migrated or typed before today will allow you to do one ‘post to deardiary.org’ even if you’re doing an update, but deardiary.org will see it as a totally new entry).
- You must not have changed your password on the legacy system since you migrated. If you have changed your password on the legacy deardiary.org system since you migrated, drop me a line and I’ll update the new system so it knows.
- You won’t see the tickbox if you’re not a migrated deardiary.org user. So if you have never signed up and migrated from deardiary.org you can’t use this feature.
- If you mark your entry on this system as Friends Only as well as tick the Post To DearDiary.Org tickbox, your entry will be posted as Friends Only over there too.
- If commenting is disabled over here, the entry will be posted with commenting disabled over there too.
- The date you set on your post here is the date it will show over there.
- Images embedded in your entry on the new system will also be embedded on the old. But be aware, the old system strips ‘a href’ tags to reduce spam appeal unless you’re a Supporter. I might reverse this change since no-one can sign up on the legacy site any more.
I haven’t tested ‘Scheduled Posts’ – they might not work, or they might
Comments are of course welcome – let me know what you think.