Ability to ‘autopost’ to Legacy/Archive System implemented

After a quick straw poll in the Facebook group it seemed like a good thing to offer!

If you have migrated your diary from the ‘legacy’ (deardiary.org) system, when you add a new entry to the NEW system (deardiary.net, ie: the one you’re reading this entry on) then you’ll see a little tickbox up in the top right hand corner inside the ‘Entry Options’ box. (The Entry Options box has been renamed, as it used to say ‘Friends Only’ at the top, but now it does more than just friends only).

The little tick box says ‘Also post to deardiary.org’. If you place a tick in this box then the entry you’re typing will also get automatically posted to the legacy site at deardiary.org. Any friends you have who have requested notifies from you will get notified from the old site (if they’re on both, they’ll get notified twice!)

This saves the multitude of people who’ve migrated but still like to keep their entries updated on deardiary.org as well because they have loyal readers who haven’t yet migrated, from having to copy and paste the entry, re-login to the old site, yadda yadda yadda.

Some Caveats though:

  1. You can only post NEW entries to the legacy site. You cannot post updates. This is because the indexing system is different on the old site and I can’t see a sensible way to tell the old site which entry you’re actually updating. I might come up with something in the future, but for now this is a restriction. (Note, entries that you migrated or typed before today will allow you to do one ‘post to deardiary.org’ even if you’re doing an update, but deardiary.org will see it as a totally new entry).
  2. You must not have changed your password on the legacy system since you migrated. If you have changed your password on the legacy deardiary.org system since you migrated, drop me a line and I’ll update the new system so it knows.
  3. You won’t see the tickbox if you’re not a migrated deardiary.org user. So if you have never signed up and migrated from deardiary.org you can’t use this feature.

Cool facts:

  • If you mark your entry on this system as Friends Only as well as tick the Post To DearDiary.Org tickbox, your entry will be posted as Friends Only over there too.
  • If commenting is disabled over here, the entry will be posted with commenting disabled over there too.
  • The date you set on your post here is the date it will show over there.
  • Images embedded in your entry on the new system will also be embedded on the old. But be aware, the old system strips ‘a href’ tags to reduce spam appeal unless you’re a Supporter. I might reverse this change since no-one can sign up on the legacy site any more.

I haven’t tested ‘Scheduled Posts’ – they might not work, or they might :-)

Comments are of course welcome – let me know what you think.

Supporter Status Expiry

Hi all,    Currently there’s no ‘penalty’ for a Supporter when their subscription expires because the system doesn’t actually do anything when a subscription runs out. In the next few days (possibly a week or so) this will change. In a few days, if your Supporter status has expired any plugins that your diary uses that are Supporter Only plugins will automatically de-activate.

I’m not entirely sure who this will affect at this stage because I haven’t done a list of people (if any!) whose Supporter status has expired. But if your Supporter status has expired, be aware that any Supporter plugins will automatically switch off when I make the change.

Sorry to be a pain, but I do need to make some reason for people to re-Support us in the future.

I’m also working on ways to improve the automatic detection of spam diaries, and hopefully I can set the system up to automatically recognise spammers better.

Any questions, please leave a comment here!

Migrations

Hi all,
If you’ve put in a migration request and it hasn’t happened within about 10 minutes or so, please get in touch. You should be able to use the Help
button at the top of the front page, but if you can’t for some reason, or you get no response, please go to the Facebook group – DDFuture and post a comment or request in there. If you don’t have Facebook, leave a comment on this entry and I will investigate for you.

Sometimes the migration system borks for some reason which I’ve yet to get to the bottom of. Normal migrations should take less than 10 minutes, so if yours takes longer, please do seek assistance!

I’ve just manually run some, so you may find yours has now gone through. You should get an email if you requested a migration – if you haven’t, again drop me a line through the channels above. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Steve